The Liars’ Tango: Poetry

The Liars’ Tango

I pull away, you pull me back in

I now lack the ability to decipher lies from truth

I’ve caught you, more than once, caught you in your liar lie

I can’t again trust that you’ve got my interests in mind

You’re more interested in escaping from me until I’m ready to escape from you

I pull away, you pull me back in. With lies.

I want to believe your lies. I want to believe that this time your words are the truth

Not just with your mouth, but with your hands, with your eyes, with your heart

But all I see when I look at you is lies

All I feel is deception flowing through your hands on mine

You lie with lies so smooth that they’re hard to recognize for what they are

And every time I fall for another lie, I realize

That the biggest liar is myself, as I lie to myself and say

“This time it’ll be okay.”

You pull me back in, I pull away

This is the tango two liars dance, how it begins

You lie to me, I lie to believe your lies

I pull away, you pull me back in

Leave a Reply

