Truth Serum: Poetry

Truth Serum 

I’ve been drinking and… I hear this song… it reminds me of you… and I get sad

I can feel you watching my life… from the sidelines… and I think… I’m not doing so bad

But then I think… you remember me… as much as I… remember you

And we’re in different spaces… I’m not entirely sure… what exactly to do

I believe… I receive… I realize… I empathize… we’re right where we need to be

We’re with the right people… we’re on the right path… finally I can sort of see

Why you left… why I gave up… where each of us went

It’s not something… at least not too much… something I resent

Occasionally I miss you… your egoism… your greed… your touch

But I try… oh how I desperately try… and falter… to miss you too much

I feel it was wrong… the timing… the place

How we fell deeply… oh so deeply… into each others space

I must accept what it was… I must move on… I must not hope

But hope… a dismal thing… is used when we try to cope

With not taking life… by the hands… without reproach… without demands

And I can hear you… in my ears… the brutal reprimands

Of wasting time… when we felt… when we knew

When we identified… something to fight for… something true

But instead I listen… and remember… and reflect how different it could be

If you were not you… and I was not me

Leave a Reply

