Being a Mommy: 1 Year

This year has flown by so fast! I feel like I’ve blinked and my sweet girl is now a year old. As we prepare for her first birthday party with friends and family, I can’t help but think about how far we’ve come this first year, how much she’s grown, and how much she’s changed the world around us already.

I love this little girl so fiercely.

I have all the things to put together a book for Hannah for her first year. I’m just not sure when I’m going to find time. So much goes to the wayside as it is, because everyday with her is an adventure since she’s turned mobile. If it weren’t for Henry, I’d be pulling my hair out. He’s such a great dad with her. But even with his help, I rarely can meet deadlines these days and a lot of my work goes unfinished. I have to get better with this time management stuff, and I will as time goes on. It’s just a challenge to work from home right now with this cuteness in my face. I find I don’t want to miss a single thing.

In January, right between 9 and 10 months old, she learned to pull herself up and crawl within the same day. It’s like it suddenly clicked for her and she was unstoppable.

At 11 months, she began standing independently and started to climb up on small boxes and small toys.

Now, at 12 months old, she’s so close to walking on her own. When she’s standing, I’ll grab her hand and she’ll start walking forward. I think she’s not confident enough to stride out on her own, and that’s okay. I’m amazed at how much she moves, when just a few months ago she was still fairly sedentary.

Hannah absolutely loves books and loves being read to. She can say “hi” and wave to a person she sees. She says “numnum” when hungry, “yum” when she likes something she’s eating. She says “mama mom” when she needs me, she says, “dadada” when she wants her daddy. She growls when she’s frustrated and when she’s excited she lets out this pterodactyl yell that’s pretty hilarious.

And that smile! When she giggles, the rest of the world disappears. She loves it when I make faces at her or play peak a boo. The rolling giggles are the absolute best.  I would act a fool the rest of my days to hear those giggles.

Watching her learn and absorb information is wonderful. She focuses so hard sometimes and I can see the gears turning as she tries to figure things out. How does milk flow from a bottle? How do I get at the thing in the jar? How do I put this thing in this other thing? I love it. Total sponge-y goodness.

She eats great, she plays hard, she laughs a lot. At her 1 year check up, the doctor said she’s doing amazing.

I love being a mommy to this little girl. It truly has been the most amazing year of my life, and I’m so grateful for every single moment. The best part is, we get to experience so much more together!

HJH12mwm-8

 

Leave a Reply

